Kate Bush in concert Sunderland Empire April 12th 1979

Kate Bush Sunderland Empire April 12th 1979 I nearly didn’t go to this gig, but I am so glad I did. Marie and I had tickets to see Thin Lizzy at Newcastle City Hall on the same night. I’d already bought the Thin Lizzy tickets before Kate’s gig was announced. I was quite a fan of Lizzy, and went to every tour; however I also quite fancied seeing what this strange lady singer was like. So we decided to forego the Lizzy concert (I can’t remember what I did with the tickets, I may have sold them or given them away….) and to go and see Kate Bush. [In fact, Lizzy were playing two nights, and in the end I managed to get a ticket for the alternate night, and saw Lizzy one night and Kate Bush the next. Result!] I queued for tickets at the Empire the day they went on sale. There was quite a queue when I arrived and by the time I reached the box office all I could get were a couple of seats to the rear of the circle. But never mind, we were in. The show itself was quite different to a normal rock show. It was very theatrical, with dancers and Kate herself doing a lot of dancing. The set featured songs from her first two lps, and the hits to date. The sound was impeccable and the performance faultless. She succeeded in bringing the concept to the stage, and blended pop/music, dance and theatre perfectly. I can picture myself now, looking down from the balcony at Kate and her dancers performing Wuthering Heights. Oh to go back in time and relive the experience. Will she ever perform in this way again. I doubt, but I hope so. If she does I will be there, no question. Setist: Moving; The Saxophone Song; Room for the Life; Them Heavy People; The Man with the Child in His Eyes; Egypt; L’amour Looks Something Like You; Violin; In the Warm Room; Fullhouse; Strange Phenomena; Hammer Horror; Kashka from Baghdad; Don’t Push Your Foot on the Heartbrake; Wow; Coffee Homeground; In Search of Peter Pan; Symphony in Blue; Feel It; Kite; James and the Cold Gun; Oh England My Lionheart; Encore: Wuthering Heights

15 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jondix on April 15, 2012 at 2:46 am

    Thought I was the on;y one there lol thank you for a great memory

    Reply

  2. I did the opposite and went to the Lizzy gig! However my brother and I sweet talked my parents and got tickets to see Kate Bush at her gig in Manchester the night before she played Sunderland. We stayed overnight at my Aunties house and then got the coach back in time to see Lizzy at the City hall. It was as you said worth it and something I’m glad I did!

    Reply

  3. I wish I’d been there! Love Kate Bush, the Hounds of Love and Ariel albums are her best IMHO.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Siso on June 4, 2012 at 1:06 am

    We went to see Lizzy, but on the Friday headed up to Edinburgh to see KB at Usher Hall. Managed to get ‘restricted view’ tickets, which turned out to be the front row! One of the best gigs I ever saw.

    Reply

  5. was lucky enough to be at the sunderland gig,only my secocnd gig ever,I was only 15!
    wow!,amazing…………

    Reply

  6. Posted by Mark Dembry on April 9, 2014 at 8:55 pm

    I too had Thin Lizzy tickets for the same night. At the time it was quite a tough choice but my friend from school (the actress Melanie Hill) was a friend of KB’s drummer through the TV show she then presented and she got tickets. So I went with her. One of the best choices I have ever made musically. To round it off I’ve got a ticket for the Hammersmith show on September 30th so I will be one of relatively few to see her on her only two tours!

    Reply

    • Posted by vintagerock on April 9, 2014 at 8:59 pm

      Hi Mark You made the right choice. We’ve also got tickets to see Kate Bush at Hammersmith and are really looking forward to it. Enjoy it. Cheers Peter

      Reply

    • Posted by beaj johnson on April 9, 2014 at 9:03 pm

      Hey Mark….I managed to get tickets for the first night at Hammersmith….am SOOOOO EXITED!! Yeah,I guess we should form a club for those lucky people who got to see both tours….in 79,I went to the gig AFTER SCHOOL….!! i HAVE JUST TURNED 50!! A long wait…but I am sure Kate will be totally AMAZING……!!

      Reply

  7. Posted by Alf bell on November 17, 2014 at 11:04 pm

    I was at the empire close to the front and got some amazing photos, one of the best gigs I’ve ever seen, love Kate Bush

    Reply

  8. I chose to see Lizzy thinking I would go and see Kate on her next tour. I didn’t!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

