Bob Dylan Palais des Sports Toulouse France 30 June 1993

Bob Dylan Palais des Sports Toulouse France 30 June 1993
I came to be at this Dylan gig purely by chance; I was at a conference in Toulouse through work, and spent a few days in the city. I’d been to Toulouse once or twice before and knew my way around the city. On my first day there, I spent a few hours looking around the open air market, rummaging through piles of 60s EPs and picture sleeve singles, and spotted a poster advertising a Dylan concert for the following evening. So I went into a nearby record shop and bought myself a ticket. This meant I would miss one of the conference evening receptions, but I couldn’t pass up the chance of seeing Dylan. The Palais des Sports was an indoor venue of a reasonable size, within walking distance of my hotel. French star Johnny Hallyday was in concert the night before Dylan, but that gig was sold out, unlike the Dylan concert. In hindsight I wish I’d made more of an effort to try to get a ticket for Johnny Hallyday as well. There was a support act for Dylan; I can’t recall who they were, but I think they were a local band. Dylan’s set was a little shorter than the gigs I had seen in the late 70s and early 80s, with a good selection of songs, but no Like a Rolling Stone! I remember enjoying the gig, but that it was spoilt a little because I knew I had to get up at 4am to get to the airport for a 6am flight. I walked back to the hotel after the gig, and had a few hours sleep before I got up to start my journey home. The ticket for this gig is pretty cool, with a nice picture of Dylan. Setlist: Hard Times; Stuck Inside of Mobile With the Memphis Blues Again; All Along the Watchtower; Just Like a Woman; Tangled Up in Blue; Born in Time; Watching the River Flow; Little Moses; Tomorrow Night; The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll; Gates of Eden; Cat’s in the Well; I and I; What Good Am I?; Maggie’s Farm; Man in the Long Black Coat; It Ain’t Me, Babe

Leave a Reply

