The Who play Quadrophenia with Eric Clapton, Bob Dylan, Alanis Morissette Hyde Park 29th June 1996

The Who play Quadrophenia with Eric Clapton, Bob Dylan, Alanis Morissette Hyde Park 29th June 1996
This was a great gig, with a very strong line-up. The concert was in support of the Princes Trust and was the first time that The Who had played in the UK for some years. I went with Marie, largely to see The Who; however the presence of Dylan and Clapton on the bill made the event all the more attractive, and the price of £8 seemed a bargain. We spent the weekend in London, staying at a Hotel close to Hyde Park Corner. Around 150,000 people were at this concert, and the weather wasn’t great; it was quite a cold day. I don’t remember much about Alanis Morissette, but do recall seeing Dylan who played a short set. His normal band was augmented by Ron Wood and Al Kooper; we were sitting on the grass somewhere in the middle of the park, and the sound was murky, blowing around in the breeze.
Bob Dylan’s setlist was: Leopard-Skin Pill-Box Hat; All Along the Watchtower; Positively 4th Street; Just Like Tom Thumb’s Blues; Tangled Up in Blue; Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right; Silvio; Seven Days; Highway 61 Revisited
Quadrophenia has grown on me over the years, and I’ve seen The Who perform it three times; once on the original tour, this show in Hyde Park, and more recently at the Albert Hall Teenage Cancer Trust gig. The Hyde Park show featured a cast of special guests playing the various parts of the rock opera: Phil Daniels (Narration), Trevor McDonald (Newscaster), Ade Edmundson (Bell Boy), Gary Glitter (Rocker), Stephen Fry (Hotel Manager), and Dave Gilmour (Guitar on Dirty Jobs, Love Reign O’er Me). The band was introduced by Jools Holland. It was a fun show, although I was a little disappointed that they didn’t pay any Who classics; I thought we might get one or two as an encore, instead we got a reprise of 5.15. The Who setlist was: I Am the Sea; The Real Me; Quadrophenia; Cut My Hair; The Punk and the Godfather; I’m One; The Dirty Jobs (with David Gilmour); Helpless Dancer; Is It in My Head?; I’ve Had Enough; 5:15; Sea And Sand; Drowned; Bell Boy; Doctor Jimmy; The Rock; Love, Reign O’er Me (with David Gilmour). Encore: 5:15. After The Who, we watched some of Clapton’s set, but left before the end. At the time I’d lost a little faith in Eric and was somewhat tired of seeing him play live. However my interest in him has become renewed in recent years, and I also feel that he has returned to form.

17 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Steve Barger on January 30, 2013 at 11:39 pm

    I was there. Visiting London, mostly on business, and decided to stroll over to the park on Saturday without a clear understanding of what I was about to experience. Bought a ticket from a scalper outside the gate for 20 quid. Even at 250% of face value, it was worth it MANY times over!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Steve Barger on January 30, 2013 at 11:41 pm

    Oh, and you forgot about Squeeze– they played just before Alanis.

    Reply

  3. Posted by vintagerock on June 22, 2013 at 2:48 pm

    Thanks Steve I had no recollection of Squeeze playing. I think we must have arrived after they had played. Best wishes Peter

    Reply

  4. Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is valuable and everything. Nevertheless
    think about if you added some great pictures or video clips to give your posts more, “pop”!
    Your content is excellent but with images and video
    clips, this website could certainly be one of the very best in its niche.
    Good blog!

    Reply

  5. I was there in 1996 with Rick my mate and his friend a nanny to Trevor Nunn. I remember the weather being typically British summer dull and cold. I remember all the artist named in the article and it was the only time I have seen Eric Clapton.The whole show will stay in my memory for ever and to cap the day off we even got to sleep on Trevor Nunn’s floor.

    Reply

  6. Posted by DRM on May 18, 2014 at 11:27 am

    I enjoyed this show immensely, as an impressionable 20 year old. The Who, with whom I was not really familiar, blew me away to the point that I have been a major fan since. I had mostly gone to see Dylan and saw him twice that day: The first & the last time. Terrible. Morisette was storming the charts at the time, but she was terrible live too. I caught her again later in the year at the Phoenix Festival (going to see Neil Young). She was no better second time around. Great on record, poor live.

    Eric Clapton put me off to sleep and l left midway through his set. Could not argue with the admission price and the Who were worth the time and money alone. Little did I know that I was seeing Dave Gilmour of Pink Floyd as well at the time, another band I love.

    Reply

    • Posted by vintagerock on May 18, 2014 at 12:55 pm

      Hi great memories many thanks
      Dylan can be unpredictable these days, but still worth going to see in my view
      Cheers Peter

      Reply

  7. Posted by David Shields. on January 27, 2015 at 11:58 pm

    I wasn’t there in 1996 but having watched the footage on you tube, I wish i was, it looks truly incredible, i am going to see them this Summer @ the iconic venue, and if it plays out half as good, then i’m in for a treat.
    i would love it if Dave Gilmour appeared again but i think pigs will fly.for those who attended the 1996 gig i salute you, I’ve loved reading the comments and regret that I wasn’t there not just for the Who but for the whole thing, i missed the 2006 hyde park calling event as welll, because my wife was giving birth on the day, barring death i will
    Be there on the 26th June,

    Reply

  8. Posted by Mick Bam on February 22, 2015 at 8:52 pm

    Hate to disappoint you but Squeeze didn’t play it was Jules Holland’s Rhythm and Blues Band

    Reply

  9. The best show I attended in my life. I’m from Brazil and spent the year 1996 in London. I feel privileged to have witnessed my favorite band . Thanks for the post.

    Reply

  10. I went to this gig, enjoyed the whole thing, even Gary Glitter! The thing I most remember is seeing Imogen Heap for the first time.
    In between the main acts they had performances from young artists who had been helped by the Princes Trust. Imogen was on just before Clapton, not on her own but fronting a band as lead singer, I thought she was magnificent and have been a fan ever since, in fact I’m going to see her tonight at Band on the Wall, Manchester.

    Reply

  11. Posted by baz hale on January 28, 2017 at 1:13 am

    I went . Couldn’t find my mate at marble arch ,overcast , no booze and on my own . it was great .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

