Emerson Lake & Palmer reunion Newcastle City Hall 1992

Emerson, Lake and Palmer reformed in 1991, and returned to play at Newcastle City Hall a year later. This gig was some 20 years since I had last seen the band, and I was looking forward to seeing how they shaped up after all that time. They released a new album Black Moon in the same year, and the programme features the cover from the album. The City Hall wasn’t full for this gig, but a respectable crowd turned out to see the band. The set was a mix of songs from throughout ELP’s career, including tracks from the new album. My favourites were the Greg Lake songs: Lucky Man, Still….You Turn Me On. It was good to hear America and Rondo again, which took me back to seeing the Nice. I don’t recall whether Keith played the City Hall organ at this concert, but I suspect he will have done so. Setlist: Karn Evil 9: 1st Impression, Part 2; Tarkus; Knife-Edge; Paper Blood; Black Moon; Close to Home; Creole Dance; From the Beginning; Still… You Turn Me On; Lucky Man; Honky Tonk Train Blues; Romeo and Juliet; Pirates; Pictures at an Exhibition. Encore: Fanfare for the Common Man; America; Rondo. My friend John saw the US leg of the tour, and picked up a signed programme, which has a different to design to mine. Since that gig I have seen little of ELP or its members. I’ve seen Greg Lake playing solo once in concert, and he is touring the UK at the moment, so I may catch another gig of his shortly. The only time I’ve seen Keith Emerson recently has been as part of the supporting bill for the Led Zeppelin reunion/Ahmet Ertegun tribute concert at the O2 Arena in London in 2007. Emerson opened the concert along with Chris Squire and Alan White from Yes, and Simon Kirke from Bad Company/Free. This supergroup lineup played a new arrangement of “Fanfare for the Common Man” at the O2 gig. In 2010, a one-off Emerson, Lake & Palmer reunion concert closed the High Voltage Festival in Victoria Park, London to commemorate the band’s 40th anniversary. I regret now that I didn’t go to that gig.

Leave a Reply

