Peter Frampton (Frampton Comes Alive!) Manchester 1976

Peter Frampton (Frampton Comes Alive!) Manchester Belle Vue 1976
Support from Gary Wright
framptontix This was a great gig and one I remember to this day. I first saw Peter Frampton when he was touring with his band Frampton’s Camel as support for his old mates Humble Pie in 1972 or 1973. I remember that he played a great version of the Stone’s Jumping Jack Flash, and there was a song called Its a Plain Shame which was from his first solo album, and which was a great favourite of mine at the time. He then all but disappeared from view for a few years, and suddenly reappeared with massive success and his Frampton Comes Alive album. I bought the album, played it again and again, and when he arrived in the UK for a short tour in 1976 a group of us bought tickets to see him in Manchester. The gig was help in Manchester Belle Vue Kings Hall, which was a big hall in the centre of Manchester’s Belle Vue centre framptonporg which was housed in an amusement park, and a zoo. This was before the days of arenas, and Kings Hall was at the time one of the largest indoor venues in the North  of England. We had great seats close to the front. Support came from Gary Wright, ex Spooky Tooth, who wowed us with some great keyboard work and songs such as Dream Weaver. I think he also played Better By You, Better Than Me from his time with Spooky Tooth. Frampton was amazing. He played the entire Comes Alive! album and the place went nuts for him. I know that he has been touring the album again, and he brought it to the UK last year. The nearest gig to me was again in Manchester, and sadly I didn’t make it. Looking back that was a mistake. Setlist: Something’s Happening; Doobie Wah; Lines On My Face; Show Me the Way; It’s a Plain Shame; Wind of Change; Just the Time of Year; Penny For Your Thoughts; All I Wanna Be (Is by Your Side); Baby I Love Your Way; I Wanna Go To The Sun; Nowhere’s Too Far (For My Baby); (I’ll Give You) Money; Do You Feel Like We Do; Shine On; White Sugar; Jumpin’ Jack Flash; Day’s Dawning.

Leave a Reply

