Chris Farlowe in concert

Chris Farlowe in concert
chris2 Chris Farlowe is one great singer. I would put him alongside the greats (for me): P J Proby, Steve Ellis, Steve Marriott, Joe Cocker, Frankie Miller, Paul Rodgers, Rod Stewart, Robert Plant. I first saw him when he was being a rock star as vocalist on Atomic Rooster. He was only in the band for a short period during 1972 and possibly 1973, and I was lucky enough to see them at Sunderland Locarno. It seemed a strange match, but worked well. The next time I saw him was at the City Hall with my mate Will. This gig was billed as Chris Farlowe and Friends and was poorly attended, Chris wasn’t really seen as being “cool” at the time. However, he was amazing, and we came away as converts. A live lp exists from that period and shows his setlist as being: We’re Gonna Make It; Rhyme And Time; Peace Of Mind; After Midnight; Only Women Bleed; Mandy; Hot Property; Handbags & Gladrags; You Haven’t Done Nothin’; It Ain’t No Use. chris1 There are quite a few titles that I don’t recognise there, but I definitely remember him singing Mandy, Only Women Bleed and Handbags & Gladrags. It interesting that Out of Time is not listed. His band for the live album is listed as backing vocals – Joanne Williams, Madeline Bell; Bass – Pat Donaldson; Drums – Gerry Conway; Guitar – Albert Lee; Horns – Chris Mercer, Ron Carthy; and Keyboards – Jean Roussel. I do recall the great Albert Lee being on guitar at that gig, but can’t be certain about the rest of the band. I wonder if Madeline Bell was there; I have always been a great fan of Madeline, and I wasn’t sure if I have ever seen her. Maybe I saw her that night. chris3 Anyway it was great gig, and that night I realised just how good Chris was that night. Since then I’ve seen Chris a few times, including a couple of gigs at Newcastle Tyne Theatre some years ago. At one of those gigs, Marie and I chatted to Chris in the bar, and he signed my ticket. Chris is often backed by The Norman Beaker Band who are an excellent blues band. Favourites of mine are Handbags and Gladrags, Out of Time, and he does great versions of The Stones Paint It Black and The Small Faces All or Nothing. Long may he rock.

Leave a Reply

