Rory Gallagher Newcastle City Hall 1982 and 1987

Rory Gallagher Newcastle City Hall 1982 and 1987
rory82 I saw Rory twice more at Newcastle City Hall, once in 1982 and once in 1987. I remember the 1987 gig, I particularly recall thinking that it had been some time since I had seen the great man, and looking forward to the gig. I also remember that he played a long set, with a lot of new songs which weren’t familiar to me, and quite a few of the old classics. I found a setlist for the London show of the tour, which shows him playing 25 songs, including old favourites: Out On The Western Plain; Pistol Slapper Blues; Tattoo’d Lady; Bullfrog Blues. This was to be the last time I would see Rory Gallagher live in concert. rory87 Setlist (from London gig on 1987 tour): Continental Op; Moonchild; I Wonder Who; Don’t Start Me Talkin’; I Ain’t No Saint; Shin Kicker; Kickback City; Loanshark Blues; Off the Handle; Failsafe Day; Out On The Western Plain; Walkin’ Blues; Pistol Slapper Blues; Keep Your Hands Off Her; Bad Penny; Follow Me; The Loop; Seems to Me; Tattoo’d Lady; Double Vision; When My Baby She Left Me; Shadow Play; Lonely Mile; Bullfrog Blues; I’m Leavin’. In later years Rory suffered health problems, caused by combinations of prescription medication and alcohol use, which resulted in liver damage. He had a liver transplant, but sadly died from an MRSA infection in London on 14 June 1995. A very sad loss. I’ve enjoyed blogging on Rory over the past few days; it has reminded me just how great he was, in many different ways, and how much I looked forward to, and enjoyed, Rory gigs. A great man, who has left a great musical legacy.

Leave a Reply

