Genesis Reading Festival 1973

Genesis Reading Festival 1973
reading73 By 1973 Genesis were headlining the Sunday night at the Reading festival. They were also recording “Selling England by the Pound” which many believe to be their best album. The 1973 festival featured some classic performances from some great acts including Status Quo, Rory Gallagher and The Faces, but the band of the weekend for me was definitely Genesis. I do remember one Reading festival where the song “I Know What I Like” was being played, or sung, everywhere you went. I went with a group of friends from Sunderland, one of whom sang that song all the time throughout the entire weekend. We were all fascinated by its quirky lyrics, and I still don’t quite understand the reference to the lawnmower. This may have been Reading 73, or perhaps Reading 74. They tend to all blend together in a blur these days 🙂 SellingEngland “Selling England” includes sone great tracks such as “Dancing with the Moonlit Knight” and “Firth of Fifth”, but I don’t recall whether these were played at Reading. Published reports suggest that the set was old favourites and similar to that of the previous year. I seem to recall that they played “I Know What I Like”; I think I can remember us all singing along, but published setlists suggest otherwise, and I know that my mind plays tricks with me these days. One thing I am certain of is that this was another classic Genesis performance, with clever use of theatrics and props, such as a pyramid coming down from the top of the stage and hovering about Peter Gabriel’s head. The set was probably something like: Watcher of the Skies; The Musical Box; Supper’s Ready; ? I Know What I Like (In Your Wardrobe) ?; The Return of the Giant Hogweed; The Knife. The Knife was always the encore in those days, and I always looked forward to it.

Leave a Reply

