Hawkwind Space Ritual Tour Sunderland Locarno 1972

Hawkwind Space Ritual Tour Sunderland Locarno 1972 hawkspace1
“This is earth calling”…….”In case of Sonic Attack on your district, follow these rules…If you are making love, it is imperative to bring all bodies to orgasm simultaneously..Do not waste time blocking your ears…..Do not waste time seeking a soundproof shelter…….Try to get as far away from the sonic source as possible…Do not panic…”
I am starting the letter H today in my bloggings, and there is no better way to start than reflecting on the times I have seen Hawkwind in concert. I’ve seen the band lots of times over the years, so please indulge me, while I write about those experiences. It will take me a week or so. I blogged some time ago on my first Hawkwind experience, which was when I saw them as one of the support acts for the post-Morrison Doors at Newcastle City Hall. It wasn’t long before I saw the band again. The Space Ritual tour called at Sunderland Locarno in 1972, and was as epic as the legends suggest. Silver Machine and Master of the Universe were great favourites at the Mecca (the Locarno) at the time; the dancefloor always filled up when they came over the PA. So when it was announced that the band were coming to play as part of their Space Ritual tour, there was a lot of excitement, and huge anticipation for the gig. This was the classic Hawkwind line-up with Robert Calvert on vocals; Dave Brock on guitar and vocals; Nik Turner on sax, flute, and vocals; Lemmy on bass guitar and vocals; Dik Mik and Del Dettmar on synthesizers and Simon King on drums. hawkspace2 The gig was everything you might imagine: very loud, a tightly packed ballroom, lots of flashing lights and strobes, Stacia dancing naked, strong smells of joss sticks and dope, strong bass and rock rhythms, lots of strange noises, weird space-rock, great psychedelic light show, booming sinister vocals from Calvert, Lemmy looking cool. This gig had every ingredient a rock n roll gig should and, as a young kid, I was just blown away and totally hooked on Hawkwind. From that point on I was a fan, and went to see them again and again; although I have to admit that I did lose faith a little during the late 80s and 90s. This is one of those gigs that I would love to experience again. If only I had a time machine…Happy days and happy memories. Setlist: Earth Calling; Born To Go; Down Through The Night; The Awakening; Lord Of Light; Black Corridor; Space Is Deep; Electronic No. 1; Orgone Accumulator; Upside Down; 10 Seconds Of Forever; Brainstorm; 7 By 7; Sonic Attack; Time We Left This World Today; Master Of The Universe; Welcome To The Future; You Shouldn’t Do That. Encore: can’t really remember, but I imagine it will have been Silver Machine

11 responses to this post.

  1. Ah, the mighty Hawkwind. Silver Machine was the first record I ever bought. You’re right about that being the classic line-up. I played Brianstorm on my latest radio show and I’m thinking about a whole programme about them. Terrific stuff.

    Reply

  2. Hello there! This article couldn’t be written any better!
    Going through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He constantly kept talking about this. I most certainly will
    send this information to him. Pretty sure he’ll have a
    great read. Manyy thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  3. Hawkwind Sunderland 1972 – My first ever gig as a 13 year old! Took a position at the front of the stage early so as not to miss anything, the crowd note crescendoed as lights dimmed and about 100 joss sticks were thrust into my hands from the stage. From the first thunderous Space inspired notes and dialogue I was mesmerised.The sight of two beautiful naked naked ladies twirling directly over me visually slowed to dream pace by the relentless strobes was my first hypnotic experience and I would imaging the nearest thing to LSD you could experience. An hour in I remember thinking ‘where am I and what is happening’ an out-of-body experience I have strived but never been able to reproduce. Just two hours that influenced the following 40 odd years of my life…… corporate rock and roll doesn’t touch it kids you don’t know what you missed

    Reply

  4. Posted by Johnny on February 20, 2015 at 11:50 pm

    I was there! Aged 16 and overwhelmed by the whole experience, it seemed like another world to me then. People dancing weirdly, the sheer volume of the band, I’d never heard anything so loud, and a naked woman.YES! A real live naked female human being dancing a few feet from my eyes! What a night!

    Reply

  5. I was there. I had just moved down south and we were visiting South Shields for Christmas. Memorable gig.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

