Iron Maiden live 1980

Iron Maiden live 1980
ironmaidenticmecca Iron Maiden exploded out of the NWOBHM scene in 1980. I first saw them supporting Judas Priest earlier in the year. It was obvious from the start that two bands were way out in front of the pack of NWOBHM bands: Def Leppard and Iron Maiden. And the Maiden were the rockier of the two, and seemed to blend heavy metal with elements of punk. I saw them at least four times during 1980: at the City Hall with Priest, at Sunderland Locarno with support from Praying Mantis and NWOBHM DJ Neal Kay, at the Reading Festival, and later in the year headlining the City Hall themselves, with support from A II Z. ironmaidenprog1980 Looking back this was a pretty meteoric rise for the band, from support act at the start of 1980, through their own club tour, to second on the bill at Reading, to a major concert tour of the UK by the end of the year. Wow! The line-up of Iron Maiden at the time was Paul Di’Anno on vocals; Dave Murray on guitar; Dennis Stratton on guitar; Steve Harris on bass guitar; and Clive Burr on drums. And of course I musn’t forget their mascot Eddie, who was there from the start, and features on the cover of the tour programme. They had released their first album, and the set drew from that lp and their second, yet to be released, classic “Killers”. Highlights for me at the time were “Running Free”, “Sanctuary” and “Iron Maiden”. The dark image of the band also appealed to me; I always was a sucker for horror movies! ironmaidentic1980 In the tour programme, Geoff Barton questions whether the NWOBHM was a “trend” or a “fad”, and “will it last?” and concludes that “we should make it last”. Well we sure did make it last, with both Maiden and Leppard continuing on to greater and greater success. I saw Iron Maiden every year and every tour for the next few years. I’ll reflect on those great tours over the next few days. Setlist from the tour would have been drawn from: The Ides of March (Intro); Sanctuary; Prowler; Wrathchild; Remember Tomorrow; Charlotte the Harlot; Killers; Another Life; Transylvania; Strange World; Innocent Exile; Phantom of the Opera; Iron Maiden; Running Free; Drifter; I’ve Got the Fire

4 responses to this post.

  1. In 1980 I was playing with barbie dolls and dreaming of rainbows!! I can’t wait to read the reviews of the other shows. You are one of the lucky ones, witnessing greatness at its beginning. I’m not familiar with Praying Mantis’s music. Which album do you recommend a neophyte to check out first? Thank you!

    Reply

    • Posted by vintagerock on June 7, 2013 at 7:39 pm

      Hi I can’t pretend to know a great lot about Praying Mantis myself, to be honest. They are still recording and gigging today and have released quite a few albums. The Best of Praying Mantis (Pony Canyon 2004) is probably a good start! Best wishes Peter

      Reply

  2. Reblogged this on My Love Affair With Heavy Metal and commented:
    An excellent and nostalgic read to any Iron Maiden fan! Up the IRONS!

    Reply

  3. I weblog quite often and I truly thank you for your information. This fantastic article has truly peaked my interest. I’m going to bookmark your weblog and keep checking for new details about once per week. I subscribed to your Feed as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

