Iron Maiden Newcastle City Hall 1984

Iron Maiden Newcastle City Hall 1984
ironmaidentic1984 The last time I saw Iron Maiden was at Newcastle City Hall in 1984. This time they played two sold out shows at the City Hall. Support came from Waysted, who were fronted by the great Pete Way, bassist and crazy guy from UFO. The tour was entitled the World Slavery Tour, and was in support their album Powerslave. As always, Maiden put on a great show, to a massive reception from the Newcastle crowd. I was right down the front, and was just blown away by the power, energy and volume of the show. maiden84 Setlist: Intro (Winston Churchill Speech); Aces High; 2 Minutes to Midnight; The Trooper; Revelations; Flight of Icarus; Rime of the Ancient Mariner; Losfer Words (Big ‘Orra); Powerslave; The Number of the Beast; Hallowed Be Thy Name; 22 Acacia Avenue; Iron Maiden. Encore: Run to the Hills; Running Free; Sanctuary. I was surprised to learn that this was the last time I saw Maiden in concert. I could have sworn that I had seen them more recently than 29 years ago; its just frightening how time passes. It’s something that I definitely need to put right! Another one for my ever growing list of bands who I intend to see again. I had some great times at Maiden gigs, and I’d almost forgotten just how great they are.

Leave a Reply

