Steve Marriott Sunderland Kazbah Club 22nd January 1989

Steve Marriott Sunderland Kazbah Club 22nd January 1989
stevetix Reflecting back on the gigs I have attended over the years gives me the opportunity to think about the performers that I really rate. One of them has to be Steve Marriott. For me, Steve is simply the best performer and the best white soul and R’n’B singer that I have ever seen. Period. I’ve already written about the Humble Pie concerts I attended in the early 70s. I was also lucky enough to see Steve in the reformed Small Faces, who I caught a couple of times in the late 70s; I’ll write about those shows on another day.
Today, I’m thinking about the last time I saw Steve Marriott in concert which was in 1989, a couple of years before his sad and untimely death. The Kazbah club was a small, short-lived, club which operated in Sunderland in the late 80s. I saw a few bands perform there; Chicken Shack, The Groundhogs and Steve Gibbons come to mind. Going to this gig was a last minute decision; I just decided to go along on the night and entered the club late, right before Steve took to the stage. It was great to see him again, after a gap of 10 years or so. To be honest he looked a little weary, and worse for wear, but the passion remained in his performance. The voice was a little raw, and more rusty, but at times he sang with the power of the old days. The set contained quite a few unfamiliar songs, but I remember him performing “All or Nothing” which remains one of my favourites and went down well with the sparse crowd. He also played a few “standards”; I recall “High Heal Sneakers” being performed that night. It was great to watch Steve in such a small and intimate venue, but for me the evening was also tinged with sadness, seeing him play in front of a few people, and not in great shape. The line-up at the time was probably Steve Marriott and The DT’s. The DT’s were an existing band from Birmingham who Steve admired and eventually hooked up with. Their line-up included Steve Walwyn, Greg Rhynd, Simon Hickling and Ches Chaplin. Typical Steve Marriott setlist from early 1989 (from humble-pie.net) : Watch Your Step; Let’s Work Together; Everything’s Gonna Be Alright; Don’t You Lie to Me; My Babe; World in a Jug; Before You Accuse Me; Big Train Stops at Memphis; I Don’t Know Where I’ve Been; Five Long Years; All or Nothing; Promised Land; Just Your Fool; High Heeled Sneakers; This Old Fool. Two years later Steve Marriott sadly died when a fire, thought to have been caused by a cigarette, swept through his home in Essex.
PS. Just noticed that Steve’s surname is spelt incorrectly on the ticket.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by ian watson on October 12, 2013 at 11:04 am

    Looking forward to the Rory gigs Pete………….Never saw him live,,,,,,

    Reply

    • Posted by vintagerock on October 12, 2013 at 2:27 pm

      Hi Ian god to hear for you. I covered Rory under G, you should be able to find them on the site. I saw him quite a few times. He was always excellent best wishes Peter

      Reply

  2. Posted by dawn on October 18, 2013 at 4:51 pm

    Great performer, this man was just a nice person who loved his music saw him three times 7th feb 1987 park hotel tynemouth and zoots ncle twice 15th july 1987 and 6th june not sure of year prob late 80s they played with after midnight.

    Reply

  3. Posted by dawn on October 18, 2013 at 5:06 pm

    Just found another ticket saw steve at mayfair 24th oct 1989 with steve gibbons band had forgot about this one.

    Reply

  4. Posted by vintagerock on October 18, 2013 at 5:10 pm

    Hadn’t realise that Steve had played Newcastle so many times. I was silly to miss those gigs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

