Status Quo: Rick’s return after his cancer scare Birmingham NEC 21st May 2006

Status Quo: Rick’s return after his cancer scare Birmingham NEC 21st May 2006
quonecThe publicity at the time was pretty scary: “singer/guitarist Rick Parfitt feared that the title of the band’s latest album, The Party Ain’t Over Yet, would prove sadly ironic when a cancer scare forced the cancellation of their traditional pre-Christmas UK tour….group faced the possibility of winding up the party and calling it a day when doctors discovered a growth on 57-year-old Rick’s larynx.” Rick himself said at the time: “For a week I didn’t know whether or not it was malignant – it was the worst week of my life,” The good news was that the growth was not cancer, but Rick was worried that he may not be able to sing again: “It’s been a long slog, going from just being able to whisper to singing on stage again….the first show was last month at a ski resort in the mountains of the Austrian Tyrol and when I opened my mouth to sing Something ‘Bout You Baby I Like nothing came out…All I could think was ‘is my career over? Will I ever sing again?'” When I got an invite through the post from the Quo fanclub to go and see Rick’s UK return concert with Quo at the NEC, Birmingham, I couldn’t resist going. quodoingit
More from Rick at the time: “Seriously, I must be the luckiest man on the planet. My voice is pretty much back to normal just in time for the NEC show. I’m now in a much better frame of mind. The concert was recorded and released as a live DVD. From the official Quo shop: “Kings of rock ‘n’ roll Status Quo released their explosive concert DVD ‘Just Doin’ It Live’….filmed at their sell out concert at Birmingham NEC, the DVD is the band’s first ‘live in concert’ release for an incredible fifteen years. The concert marked Rick Parfitt’s return to full Quo duty since his health scare last Christmas, 12,000 loyal fans ecstatically welcomed him back on stage with long-time partner Francis Rossi. ‘Just Doin’ It Live’ features the full rocking concert of over 2 hours and includes all of Quo’s most memorable hits…..”
The gig itself was a pretty emotional experience. The NEC is a old Quo stronghold, and the denim hordes turned out in their masses to welcome Rick back, and show him how glad we were that he was ok. I had a seat in one of the front blocks with a pretty good view. Quo played a blinder. I was still on a Quo high, and they could do no wrong for me at the time.
Setlist: Caroline, Somethin’bout you Baby I Like, don’t waste my Time, 4500 Times, Rain, All Stand Up, Solid Gold, The Oriental, Creepin’ up on you, Mystery Medley, Belavista Man, The Party Ain’t Over Yet, Gerdundula, Roll over lay Down, Down Down, Whatever You Want, Rockin’all over the World, Proposin’ Medley, Junior’s Wailing, Rock’n Roll Music/Bye Bye Johnny.
Quo gig No 30.

Leave a Reply

