Yes Symphonic (or Magnification) Tour Newcastle City Hall 12th December 2001

Yes Symphonic (or Magnification) Tour Newcastle City Hall 12th December 2001yestix2001
For the Magnification album and tour Yes were accompanied by an orchestra. It had been many years since I had seen the band, and what better way to do so. The line-up of Yes for this tour was Jon Anderson, Steve Howe, Chris Squire and Alan White. They were accompanied by Tom Brislin on keyboards. The orchestra was conducted by Wilhelm Keitel. I remember that I’d had a terrible day at work, and I was unsure whether to go to the concert at all. However, the thought of seeing Yes again raised my spirits and I enjoyed the concert and was pleased that I went.
yesprog2001The set was a mix of songs from throughout their career, including several newer ones which were totally unfamiliar to me. Classic Yes tracks which they played were “Close to the Edge”, “Long Distance Run-around”, “Starship Trooper”, “And You and I” and “I’ve Seen All Good People”. The encore was “Roundabout”. The orchestra added greater depth and richness to the Yes sound which suited some of their more expansive pieces such as “Ritual”. However, I felt that some of their songs, “Starship Trooper” for example, were better suited to their original “band” sound and that the orchestra added little to them, and sometimes detracted from the purity of the song. Having said that, I enjoyed the concert and it was great to see Yes again, after such a long time.
yes2001The concert at the Heineken Music Hall in Amsterdam on 22 November 2001 was recorded and released on DVD in 2002 and on CD in 2003.
Setlist: Give Love Each Day; Close to the Edge; Listen to Your Heart; Long Distance Run-around; Don’t Go; In the Presence of… Concerto in D (2nd Movement) (Steve Howe); Second Initial (Steve Howe); Starship Trooper; Magnification; And You and I; Ritual (Nous Sommes du Soleil); I’ve Seen All Good People
Encore: Roundabout
Many thanks to Mitch for the image of his flyer from the concert.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mitch on March 10, 2015 at 11:08 am

    I was at this one too. This was the seventh time I had seen the band following a lengthy hiatus after the Relayer tour. I never really got into Going For The One, Tormato, Drama or the Trevor Rabin albums.

    But I thought that Magnification was their best album in ages – inparticularly the track ‘In The Presence Of’ was a great return to form. The Ladder album from 1999 wasn’t bad either.

    I remember there were a lot of young faces in the orchestra and they looked like they were really getting into and thoroughly enjoying the music despite (probably most of them I would guess) never having heard Yes music before.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

