The Rolling Stones Don Valley Stadium Sheffield June 6th 1999

The Rolling Stones Don Valley Stadium Sheffield June 6th 1999.
This show was originally scheduled to take place a year earlier in 1998, but the entire European tour was postponed for a year for tax reasons! From Time is on My Side, the Rolling Stones Chronicles site: “June 8, 1998: The Rolling Stones’ British concerts are postponed until 1999 because of new tax laws. This means the Bridges to Babylon tour will spread over three calendar years, by far the longest in the Stones’ history up to this point. Because of its financial motives, the postponement causes controversy in the media.” This was a pretty lame reason for postponing the tour in my view, and just showed what values The Stones held at the time. Anyway, Marie and I stuck with it, and hung onto the tickets (actually I think we had to return them and they were reissued, the ticket has a sticker on with the new date, so I guess that must have been the case?). Support came from Cheryl Crow, who also joined the Stones for Honky Tonk Women. We had seats in the stand to the left of the stage. This was the first time I’d seen the Stones with a B stage, and the bridge took them out over the crowd onto a smaller stage in the centre of the stadium. This was pretty novel at the time, although many bands have followed suit with a similar set up (Take That come to mind). I’d missed the Voodoo Lounge tour, which in hindsight was a big mistake, and which I truly regret to this day. This show renewed my interest in the Stones. I thought they were great that night, and I vowed to see them every tour from then on, and have stuck to that so far. It was interesting, and a surprise, to see them play Dylan’s Like a Rolling Stone. Setlist: Jumpin’ Jack Flash; You Got Me Rocking; Live With Me; Respectable; Gimme Shelter; Ruby Tuesday; Honky Tonk Women (with Sheryl Crow); Saint Of Me; Out Of Control; Paint It Black; Before They Make Me Run; You Don’t Have To Mean It. B-Stage:
Route 66 (Nat King Cole cover); Like Rolling Stone; Midnight Rambler; Sympathy for the Devil; Tumbling Dice; It’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll (But I Like It); Start Me Up; Brown Sugar; Encore: (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction

Leave a comment