Elvis Costello Newcastle City Hall March 1978

Elvis Costello Newcastle City Hall March 1978
Support Mickey Jupp
I’d seen Elvis Costello on the Stiff tour, and was really into his early singles and his image. He quickly graduated to playing concert halls, and this was the first of many times that he has played at Newcastle City Hall. His success was pretty rapid, and that clutch of early singles is impressive. Within a year he had delivered two ace albums and the singles Less Than Zero, Alison, Red Shoes, I don’t want to go to Chelsea, and Watching the detectives. Amazing when you think of it. His image then was very distinct; a strange nurdy mix of Buddy Holly, Hank Marvin, and yet still very cool. On stage he was sharp, stuttering, passionate and totally enthralling. I really enjoyed seeing Elvis Costello in the late 70s and early 80s, and haven’t been to see him for some time. I missed his recent visit to Newcastle, but note that he is returning to the region next year to play at The Sage Gateshead, and have promised Laura that we will go along this time. Reminiscing about my early Elvis concert experiences has made me realise just how great he was, and I am sure still is, so I look forward to see him next year. I’ll post a few more recollections on early Elvis gigs over the next few days. Setlist: Waiting For The End Of The World; No Action; This Year’s Girl; Night Rally; (The Angels Wanna Wear My) Red Shoes; Hand In Hand; Less Than Zero; The Beat; Lip Service; (I Don’t Want To Go To) Chelsea; Pump It Up; Lipstick Vogue; Watching The Detectives; You Belong To Me; Mystery Dance; Miracle Man

Leave a comment