Bon Jovi Stadium of Light Sunderland 13 June 2013

Bon Jovi Stadium of Light Sunderland 13 June 2013
bonjovitix The Stadium of Light is doing a great job of bringing top acts to Sunderland. So far, we have seen Oasis, Kings of Leon, Take That and others all take to the stage in the stadium. Last night it was Bon Jovi’s turn to rock the Sunderland venue, and the band and crowd didn’t let each other down. I won’t pretend to be a big Bon Jovi fan; the last time I saw them live was low down the bill at Donington, as support for ZZ Top, and before that it was as support for Kiss at Newcastle City Hall. Still, you have to hand it to these guys, they do know how to put on a show. The stage set up was modelled on a massive fender of a vintage cadillac, a fitting setting for performing songs of the road and the American dream. The Sunderland crowd sang along and cheered, and the weather held out. Support came from local heroes The Futureheads. bonjoviprog As I said, I can’t pretend to be a fan, Marie and I went along to check the band out and to support the Stadium in bringing rock music to Sunderland. But I must admit I was impressed by Jon Bon Jovi; his stage presence, energy and stamina. The guy is just amazing and had the crowd in the palm of his hand. Setlist: That’s What the Water Made Me; You Give Love a Bad Name; Born to Be My Baby; Raise Your Hands; Because We Can; Keep the Faith; I’ll Be There for You; It’s My Life; I’ll Sleep When I’m Dead; Lost Highway; Runaway; Raise Your Hands; Bad Medicine. Encore: In These Arms; Wanted Dead or Alive; Rockin’ All Over the World; Have a Nice Day; Someday I’ll Be Saturday Night; Livin’ on a Prayer; Always.

Leave a comment