Elton John Wembley Stadium Summer of 84 concert

Elton John Wembley Stadium Summer of 84 concert
eltontix84This was the second time Elton had headlined at Wembley Stadium, fronting a line-up which also featured Big Country, Kool and The Gang, Wang Chung and Nik Kershaw. Big Country stepped in at the last minute as replacement for Paul Young who was unwell. I went with my mate Dave, we were both fans of Big Country at the time and we were pleased to see that they were added to the bill. The rest of the acts were ok, standout memories for me are Nik Kershaw and Wouldn’t It Be Nice (the superlative song The Riddle was to follow later that year), Dance Hall Days by Wang Chung, and Kool and the Gang’s set which was also a highlight. eltonprog84 Elton was on top form that day, and the concert was a big success for him; particularly considering his less than successful previous appearance at Wembley Stadium 9 years before. I have two programmes from that day, one was produced for the concert itself, the other is Elton John’s own tour programme for the European tour, of which this concert was part. I was back at Wembley Stadium the following year for Live Aid, and Elton was again on the bill. eltonprog84a Elton John setlist that day: Tiny Dancer; Hercules; Rocket Man; Daniel; Restless; Candle in the Wind; The Bitch Is Back; Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me; Sad Songs (Say So Much); Bennie and the Jets; Sorry Seems to Be the Hardest Word; Philadelphia Freedom; Blue Eyes; I Guess That’s Why They Call It the Blues; Kiss the Bride; One More Arrow; Too Low for Zero; I’m Still Standing; Your Song; Saturday Night’s Alright for Fighting; Goodbye Yellow Brick Road; Crocodile Rock; Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin On / I Saw Her Standing There / Twist and Shout.

30 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kate on May 6, 2016 at 4:41 am

    Have wonderful memories of this beautiful day. Elton was incredible!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Dominic Lonsdale on September 12, 2016 at 11:38 am

    Wang Chung did an absolutely awesome version of don’t let go and I am a Pink Floyd fan! Went to see Elton mainly but it was a great concert!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Alexa Lucas on September 6, 2018 at 6:51 am

    Was there too (14) and in my fake denim ra ra skirt, tea bag t shirt and double wrap around belt. I think KC and the sunshine band were there too.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Kim Findlay on June 22, 2019 at 7:58 am

    I was there too (aged 19) with my best friend. It was such a great day, full of excitement and adrenalin. We stood up and sang along with all the songs. I particularly loved Elton’s performance. Kool and the Gang were fab too. At first I was gutted when I heard that Paul Young couldn’t perform, but Big Country did a good job as his replacement and it certainly didn’t spoil the event for me. Saw Paul live much later on, at an 80’s concert in Norfolk. Brought back wonderful memories of my youth.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Greg Parker on August 3, 2019 at 9:22 am

    Lovely sunny day and the unexpected Big Country set was the icing on the cake for me.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Joe White on April 10, 2020 at 4:02 pm

    I was 17 and was a ‘marshal’ up in the roof section. We had to chase away the people who had climbed the scaffolding on the outside!
    I remember it being Capital Radio “sunsplash” but I can’t find any other reference.
    I must say though, Elton literally rocked Wembley! Fantastic!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Shay on June 27, 2020 at 9:12 am

    Thank you so much for posting this – I was there too, and trying to remember the bands. I was there mainly for Elton, and spent most of Kool and the Gang’s set in the queue for the ladies. I could tell they were brilliant though. I remember Big Country standing in for Paul Young – I knew their single and enjoyed hearing it.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Jo on May 9, 2021 at 12:18 pm

    Ahhh fond memories… nik kershaw singing “ I won’t let the sun go down on me”… as the sun started to go down… and Elton on top of the piano playing it upside down 😁

    Reply

  9. Posted by Paul on June 17, 2021 at 3:58 pm

    Traveled from RAF Odiham what a fantastic day Elton was special and Nick Kershaw brilliant promised myself to come back the following year which turned into Live Aid enough said

    Reply

  10. Posted by Gordon Guy on June 30, 2021 at 10:46 am

    Thanks for posting this…always wondered whether my memories of the day were through “rose tinted glasses” but the comment about Nik Kershaw really supports how I thought about the day. Elton of course was immense but the “support acts” each brought something to the party, a great day, a great concert and treasured memories.

    Reply

    • Posted by vintagerock on June 30, 2021 at 11:24 am

      Thanks for your memories Gordon. Yes it was a great day and a great concert; Elton was, as always, excellent. Happy days Peter

      Reply

  11. Posted by Julia Hopday on June 20, 2022 at 6:39 pm

    I remember having to go to the Royal Lancaster Hotel, Hyde Park to get our tickets as my then boyfriend’s friend was a roadie for EJ and he got us brilliant tickets as well as a tour backstage afterwards. My first big concert, very exciting all round and sadly nothing has competed since then.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Theresa Wright on February 12, 2023 at 4:43 pm

    I was there too. I remember him singing Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me as the sun set behind the stage. A memorable day.

    Reply

  13. Posted by nicoletta on June 4, 2023 at 8:41 pm

    io ero in vacanza studio a Cristal Palace e con un ragazzo austriaco siamo partiti per questa giornata fantastica al Wembley stadium con solo due panini….. che ricordi, quanta gente…. grazie mille ..è l’unica notizia che ho trovato….quanto tempo, grazie grazie grazie

    Reply

    • Posted by vintagerock on June 5, 2023 at 9:08 am

      I was on a study holiday at Cristal Palace and with an Austrian guy we left for this fantastic day at Wembley stadium with only two sandwiches ….. what memories, how many people …. Thank you very much.. it’s the only news I found…. how long, thank you thank you thank youYou are very welcome best wishes Peter

      Reply

  14. Posted by Ken on June 25, 2023 at 9:25 pm

    Did they do two shows? I remember listening live on Radio 1 (still have a cassette of the Elton John set somewhere)

    I would swear that I heard Paul Young earlier in the day on the radio as I distinctly remember he was having vocal issues.

    There was also a moment where someone accidentally triggered the drum machine (for Too Low for Zero?) during an earlier song.

    Reply

    • Posted by vintagerock on June 26, 2023 at 11:29 am

      No there was only one show Ken; the other concert I was referring to was Elton John’s earlier appearance at Wembley Stadium in 1975. Both great concerts. Happy days Peter

      Reply

      • Posted by Ken on June 26, 2023 at 3:25 pm

        I wondered if there. Ishtar have been two shows in 84 to explain why I remember Paul Young performing while I was listening to the radio. I wonder if Radio 1 included a live set by him from somewhere else to fill some time between live sets during the broadcast.

        The Elton John set was superb. Rocket Man was sublime.

  15. Posted by Mrs Angela Haley on June 26, 2023 at 8:46 am

    I was there too. Was an amazing day. Just worked out that ticket price was less than 10% of my then weekly wage (£115 pw). You wouldn’t see an event like that now for say £50 or £60, would be more like 50% of your weekly wage.
    We were so lucky in 70s and 80s that ticket prices were realistically priced and the real fans could afford them.

    Reply

    • Posted by vintagerock on June 26, 2023 at 11:19 am

      I agree Angela ticket prices have just become ridiculous Peter

      Reply

      • Posted by Ken on June 26, 2023 at 3:27 pm

        That’s why I love the Green Note and similar venues now. £15 and you will actually get to chat to the artists who will be pleased you’re at their gig.

      • Posted by vintagerock on June 26, 2023 at 4:07 pm

        Well said Ken happy days Peter

  16. Posted by Sandy on July 7, 2023 at 7:43 pm

    Thank you so much for your post.
    I was there and it was a fantastic day, Kool and the gang, Big Country, Nik Kershaw and Elton were amazing.
    40 years later and I’m going to his final concert on the farewell tour in Stockholm.
    He’ll always be one of the greatest.

    Reply

Leave a comment