Ted Nugent in concert 1976, 1977 and 1980

Ted Nugent in concert 1976, 1977 and 1980
ted1980Ted Nugent is, to say the least, outspoken and holds some strong views. When I first went to see him he was proclaiming: “It ain’t Rock’n’Roll if it ain’t loud” and “If its too loud you’re too old!” and indeed, loud he was. This was at the time of his “Free For All” and “Cat Sratch Fever” albums. He arrived in the UK just as punk was breaking. Now if Ted Nugent is anything, he sure ain’t punk rock. Ted plays straight ahead rock’n’roll and some pretty neat guitar. I first saw him at the Reading Festival in 1976, and then at Newcastle City Hall in 1977 and Newcastle Mayfair in 1980. Ted was wild and crazy on stage, with a massive mane of hair. One memory from the Mayfair gig, that my mate Norm reminded me of. Remember this was at the time of punk rock, when certain elements of the crowd would spit at the band. Well for some crazy reason a guy in the Mayfair crowd tried spitting at Ted. Ted didn’t take too kindly to this and had it out with the culprit, threatening to come down onto the dancefloor and sort him out. Ted played a big Gibson guitar, and wore lots of leather. Ted also had a big ego and would say some quite outrageous things, and continues to do so today. tedtixSome Ted quotes from the 1977 tour programme: “The sounds I make are all power, you’ve got to feel it when you’re blowing your rocks off. People think I’m deranged but it’s all about sex and audible, physical and visual recreation.” “There’s a ringing in my ears and I think that’s it the call of the wild. I got ears, I can hear it. The kids are going crazy, foamin’ at the mouth, ready to tear the legs off the security guards…and I should be modest?” “I can play real tasty too, all the time in fact. Sure I’m a show man, I’m the best entertainer of them all but listen to the classy way I do it”. “People were writing all kinds of shit about me. How I’d raped too women – one of them a nun. How I ate raw meat. It was vindictive. The only people I ever beat up were journalists.” and there’s more…”There’s no one to overshadow me, there ain’t nobody who can outdo me at my own game. I mean have you ever heard anyone who sounds like me?”.
ted77 And a few more I found on the internet: “Vegetarians are cool. All I eat are vegetarians – except for the occasional mountain lion steak.” “Americans have the right to choose to be unarmed and helpless. Be my guest.” “I am the Great White Buffalo and I play an American-made Gibson guitar that can blow your head clean off at 100 paces.” “Gibson has been making the finest electric guitars the world has ever witnessed for over 70 years. They are as American as God, guns and rock and roll.”
Read more at http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/authors/t/ted_nugent.html
Typical Ted Nugent setlist from 1977: Stranglehold; Just What The Doctor Ordered; Free for All; Snakeskin Cowboys; Cat Scratch Fever; Wang Dang Sweet Poontang; A Thousand Knives; Dog Eat Dog / Stormtroopin’; Hey Baby; Great White Buffalo; Hibernation; Motor City Madhouse.
The late Mick Farren reviewed Ted’s Hammersmith Odeon show for the NME, 12 March 1977, and said: “We’ve heard a great deal lately about how Ted Nugent abjures drugs and alcohol. Perhaps that’s his mistake. The occasional soul searching high might have produced some kind of sensitivity in him. Sensitive this boy is not. Compared to him, Lemmy and Motorhead seem positively pre-Raphaelite.”
I found a flyer for the Steve Gibbons band in my programme for the 1977 gig, so I guess they must have been the support act that night.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by deadheaduk on December 25, 2013 at 9:21 am

    I was still at school when I saw Nugent for the first and only time at that City Hall gig. I took the programme into school the following day and was showing it to my friends in a lesson. The teacher came over and picked it up. The quote he managed to find was something like “Ted describes his music as dripping with pussy juice”. There was another teacher in the room and he looked up and in a loud voice, dripping with sarcasm, asked the other teacher if he had any idea what this meant!

    Reply

  2. Posted by abitoftap on December 25, 2013 at 10:26 am

    I saw the tour with Gibbons as support at the Liverpool Empire…a friend had bagged free tickets. We lasted halfway through the second number before we left…..we had to convince an 85 year old commissionaire in an impressive blue uniform that we did really want to go, and to get him to unlock the theatre doors. He did use the huge stage though I remember but I couldn’t cope with it all even then!!!

    Reply

  3. I remember the spitting incident well. He actually kicked the guy and offered him onstage to fight it out. We had to be back at Middlesbrough after the show and missed the train, so we waited back at the back of the Mayfair and met Wild Horses(support) and Ted himself as they left the building. Ted was an absolute gent and really friendly. I still have the autographed programme and denim jacket.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Paul on January 4, 2015 at 6:24 pm

    I was near the front to the left of the guy spitting. I couldn’t believe it as huge gobs of spit were landing in Teds hair. Once Ted realised what was going on he stopped playing the song and began punching, kicking and smacking the base of the mic stand in the guys face. He was bleeding, dazed and couldn’t move as he was stuck in place by the compact crowd. Ted punched the mic left the stage, later to come back and asked for the guy on the spot lights to illuminate the guy and said “Get the light on my friend down here” and then introduced Paralyzed to “his friend down here”. With a manic grin on Teds face he ripped through the song whilst never taking his eyes of the guy. I still have a pretty shitty copy of a bootleg of the gig which brings it all back. crazy times.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Joe on August 3, 2017 at 10:57 pm

    That was awesome dude! Pure Nuge from the 70’s! He was the walkinest, talkinest, biggest, baddest and loudest man in rock! My only regret is that I was too young to be there. (10 in 77).

    Reply

Leave a comment