Steps The Steptacular Tour Newcastle Arena 11th May 2000

Steps Newcastle Arena 11th May 2000
stepsprogNow my entry today is definitely a guilty pleasure. I even hesitated abut including it. But, being the completist I am, here we go….Although I must share in some of the guilt for admitting to seeing popsters Steps in concert, I will also lay some of it on Laura, who was a big fan at the time. The Steptacular tour was Steps third tour and came off the back of their second album of the same name, and was actually a pretty spectacular event, and good fun too. It was an amazingly successful tour, including three nights at Newcastle Arena, seven nights at Wembley Arena, and similar runs in Glasgow, Sheffield, Manchester, Birmingham and Belfast. Demand to see Steps was so high, that five open air show were added to the tour, including one in London’s Hyde Park.
The show started with our five heroes flying down from the roof of the arena, and continued in an outrageously choreographed manner throughout the entire evening. Highlights were H singing a solo suspended from the ceiling in front of a huge letter “H”, lots of explosions, a multitude of dancers, and of course the finale with “Tradegy”, that crazy dance, and lots of confetti coming down from the ceiling and covering us all. stepstixThe programme promised us the “tippermost, toppermost show you’ve ever seen” and it wasn’t far wrong. Back to serious rock tomorrow šŸ™‚
Setlist: Deeper Shade of Blue; One for Sorrow; Say You’ll Be Mine; I Know Him So Well; Come on Get Together; After the Love Has Gone/Last Thing on My Mind; 5,6,7,8; R Dancing; Lay All Your Love on Me; Heartbeat; When I Said Goodbye; I Surrender; Things Can Only Get Better; Never Get Over You; Better the Devil You Know; Summer of Love; Love’s Got a Hold on My Heart; Tragedy.
Steps were: Claire, Faye, Lisa, “H” and Lee.

Leave a comment