Stevie Wonder Wembley Arena 6th September 1980

Stevie Wonder Wembley Arena 6th September 1980
stevietixNo support
There was a massive buzz around Stevie Wonder’s first performances in Britain since 1974. Tickets for the six night “Hotter Than July Music Picnic” run of concerts at Wembley Arena were sold by postal application, and were massively over-subscribed. We were lucky enough to score tickets in the fourth row of the front block, giving us a great view of Wonder and his band.
The stars turned out in force for the show. As we took our seats we noticed Kate Bush sitting two rows behind us with a group of friends. We also noticed Goodie Bill Oddie in the front row.
Stevie began the first set with a run through some of his ’60s hits, starting with “For Once In My Life”. From a NME review of the time, written by Paul Du Noyer: “…there’s Stevie Wonder up there, the best soul voice this side of Smokey and he’s giving us ‘My Cherie Amour’ and ‘Signed Sealed Delivered’ and ‘If You Really Love Me’ and, oh, you really should have been there because it was a tremendous thing to hear.”
The show was in two sections, full of classic Motown, most of the “Innervisions” album, and those tremendous Wonder songs like “Living for the City” and “Higher Ground”. There were moments where it really just couldn’t have been any better, and others where Wonder got the crowd to singalong to the songs, almost spoiling them. “…those hoary old call-and-response sequences: ‘Now I want all you fellas to sing this part… and the ladies sing this part…’…..just a pointless pantomime” (Paul Du Noyer, NNME).
stevieprogAfter the interval Wonder re-appeared as the young “Little Stevie Wonder”, dressed in a cute red velvet suit and bow-tie and proceeded to play an amazing version of “Fingertips”; complete with note-perfect mouth harp. Then it was back to classics: “You Are The Sunshine Of My Life” and an amazing “Superstition” which stunned everyone. The new songs of the evening were “Happy Birthday” in honour of Martin Luther King, and the single “Masterblaster” (more singalong, but still great). A breath-taking performance.
The following evening, which was last of the six night run, just before the very last song Stevie said “I’d like to bring on a couple of guests” and on walked Marvin Gaye and Diana Ross to sing along with him. Now I wish I’d been there that night.

Setlist. Set 1. For Once In My Life; My Cherie Amour; Signed Sealed Delivered; If You Really Love Me; Golden Lady; Boogie On Reggae Woman; Living For The City; Higher Ground; Don’t You Worry ’bout a Thing.
Interval.
Set 2. Fingertips; Sir Duke; You Are The Sunshine Of My Life; Superstition; Visions; You and I; Secret Life Of Plants; Happy Birthday; Masterblaster Jammin’ ; Did I Hear You Say You Love Me

13 responses to this post.

  1. I was there on the last night and it was not quite like you explained he did not just introduce them, he got the lights man to find them in the audience, he kept saying Diana I know you are out there, she agreed eventually to come on stage and then the pair of them found Marvin Gaye, I’m a big cynic but it did not look rehearsed to me, it was pure magic!

    Reply

  2. The last night was the best concert I have ever been to, Marvin and Diana on stage totally unrehearsed pure magic.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Howard smith on December 15, 2016 at 11:07 pm

    I had a ticket for that concert but my dog was so ill she had to have a blood transfusion so I had to collect and look after her as there was no one at home for a week so I gave my ticket to my girlfriends sister when they came back they told me the two had joined him I thougt they were winding me up after all these years I’ve found it was true any I did see him twice since then we’ll the things we do for dogs

    Reply

  4. Posted by John Butler on February 20, 2017 at 11:27 pm

    I was there on the Saturday night when he brought Diana & Marvin on to do a rendition of Marvin’s “What’s going on?”
    I tell people and I can tell they don’t believe me. It’s good to see that there’s evidence that it took place and I didn’t imagine it.

    Reply

  5. Posted by John Butler on February 21, 2017 at 5:55 am

    The Wembley concerts were a sell out and he put on an extra gig at the Hammersmith Odeon around the same time “for the fans”. I was lucky enough to attend that one also which seemed smaller scale & and more intimate. I was 18 at the time and saw him 3 times that tour. Amazing.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Jay on April 23, 2017 at 12:40 pm

    I worked on that Concert, all my friends wanted my job in those days..Dear old Wembley, it lost all its sparkle when the greed and the wrecking balls moved in.. Never go near the place now..

    Reply

  7. Posted by Gemma on March 4, 2018 at 11:08 pm

    I saw stevie too, i was in the celebrity enclosure with Sting, Madeleine Bell, The Commoores, Keith, Ronnie, Charlie and Mick. Hank Marvin and his son. Stevie gave the profits of one song as a tribute to charity, i was 19 and i danced with Mick. I bet he wishes he remembers!!

    Reply

  8. I also went to one of Stevie’s fantastic Wembley concerts, but unfortunately not the final one with Diana and Marvin. I did however see Marvin Gaye at the London Paladium and still have the program somewhere. Such magical times indeed. I had absolutely no idea until reading this link, about all the famous people who were there. I would imagine there were countless more of them on other nights too.

    Reply

    • Posted by Gemma on March 29, 2018 at 12:01 pm

      Yes, indeed. Thank you for your kind response, it was a very amazing night out for me. In the interval, Mick asked me what I thought about Stevies charty bit – the mother who was shot by police whilst shielding her son on the other side of the door. Mick told me his view and I can still see him dancing as he punched the air in the way he did to ‘get of my cloud’. He wore a bottle green silk suit with a cream shirt. I dont remember much of the other Stones. I wish I chatted to them a bit more.
      PS. We saw the Stones at Wembley in ’81 when they wete supported by Black Uhuru and we’ve got a ticket for Stones’ No Filter, on 22/5 at the Olympic Park about a mile from my house! So excited!

      Reply

  9. Posted by John Weston on July 19, 2021 at 12:12 pm

    Was there with three of my friends, my spirits needed lifting after the end of a relationship and what a lift. A fantastic night which I will always remember and I am 60 something now lol.

    Reply

Leave a comment